Loading the player ...

We Are the Best!

Vi Är Bäst!

Sweden | 2013 | 102 minutes | Lukas Moodysson

In 1982 Stockholm, three 13-year-old misfits deal with their suffocating surroundings, as well as the onslaught of adolescence, by forming a riotous, all-girl punk trio. Based on the graphic novel “Never Goodnight” by Coco Moodysson.

May 17, 2014
xHarvard Exit  
9:30 PM Date has passed
May 21, 2014
AMC Pacific Place 11  
4:30 PM Date has passed
Show All

Set in early 1980s Stockholm, We Are the Best! is a sweetly raucous film from director Lukas Moodysson that follows a trio of pre-teen girls who discover the power of music, friendship, and rebellion. Best friends Bobo and Klara are fed up with clueless parents, conformist classmates, and the sexist musicians at the community center who refuse to accept the power of punk rock. Despite having no musical ability (or even instruments) they decide to form their own band, creating cacophonous in-your-face diatribes against sports and politics. Then they meet Hedvig, a good Christian girl in fuzzy sweaters who is a classical guitar prodigy. Hedvig seems out of her element at first, but soon becomes liberated by the music, discovering a fire inside of herself that comes out in force—especially after she gets her first DIY haircut. Based on his wife Coco's graphic novel "Never Goodnight," Moodysson returns to the style of his beloved films Show Me Love and Together, capturing the joys of youth with a naturalistic, almost documentary style that genuinely embraces the spirit of the outsider and features a trio of young actresses who are true discoveries. Like grrl-power classic Ladies and Gentlemen: The Fabulous Stains before it, We Are the Best! is destined to inspire a new generation to pick up guitars, let their freak flags fly, and take over the world.

Director Biography

Lukas Moodysson is a Swedish poet, novelist, and filmmaker. Moodysson attended the University College of Film, Radio, Television, and Theater in Stockholm. His feature-length directorial debut Show Me Love won several Guldbagge Awards including Best Film and Best Director. In 2007 The Guardian included Moodysson in their list as one of the world's best directors.

Sponsored by The Safeway Foundation, The Art Institute of Seattle

Director: Lukas Moodysson
Principal Cast: Mira Barkhammar, Mira Grosin, Liv LeMoyne
Country: Sweden
Year: 2013
Running Time: 102 minutes
Producer: Lars Jönsson
Screenplay: Lukas Moodysson, based on the graphic novel by Coco Moodysson
Cinematographers: Ulf Brantås
Editors: Michal Leszczylowski
Website: Official Film Website
Awards: Tokyo International Film Festival 2013 (Grand Prize), Reykjavik International Film Festival 2013 (Audience Award), Göteborg Film Festival 2014 (Lorens Award), Sarasota Film Festival 2014 (Special Jury Prize)
Filmography: Mammoth (2009); Container (2006); A Hole in My Heart (2004); Terrorists: The Kids They Sentenced (Doc, 2003); Lilya 4-ever (2002); Together (2000); Show Me Love (1998)
Language: Swedish
HasSubTitles: Yes
Format: DCP
US Distributor: Magnolia Pictures
International Sales: TrustNordisk
Show All