Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde with live soundtrack by The Invincible Czars

Loading the player ...

USA | 1920 | 79 minutes | John S. Robertson

After more than a decade of silent film scores that beautifully blend rock and orchestral music, Austin band The Invincible Czars now unleash their spooky sonic reimagining of the classic silent adaptation of Robert Louis Stevenson's iconic tale starring the legendary John Barrymore.

Thursday, June 8, 2017

  • Purchased Tickets
  • Limited Availability
  • On Standby
  • Matinee

Triple Door

7:00 PM The Invincible Czars are scheduled to attend

After more than a decade of silent-film scores that beautifully blend rock and orchestral music, cinematic Austin band The Invincible Czars, regarded by many as the Alloy Orchestra of the South, now unleash their spooky sonic reimagining on the first great American horror film, Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. This 1920 adaptation of Robert Louis Stevenson's iconic tale features John Barrymore's first virtuoso film performance as the visionary scientist who separates his good and evil personalities-with dire results. The Invincible Czars have crafted a haunting and understated minimalist soundtrack that matches the introspective, philosophical nature of the film, incorporating music by Erik Satie and Claude Debussy.

Performer Biography

The Invincible Czars began as part of the wave of acts that began creating soundtracks for silent films at the original Alamo Drafthouse in the early 2000s, and over the years have continued to add new movie scores, custom artwork, and unique wardrobes to their performances. Performing regularly throughout Texas, New Mexico, and Alabama, they are regarded by many as the Alloy Orchestra of the south.

Sponsored by Wild Ginger, The Triple Door, KEXP 90.3 FM, MoPOP, Lux Pot Shop, Hardly Art Records

  • Director: John S. Robertson
  • Principal Cast: John Barrymore, Brandon Hurst Martha Mansfield, Charles Lane, Cecil Clovelly
  • Premiere Status: Seattle
  • Country: USA
  • Year: 1920
  • Running Time: 79 minutes
  • Producer: Adolph Zukor
  • Screenplay: Robert Louis Stevenson, Clara Beranger
  • Cinematographers: Roy F. Overbaugh
  • Editors: Karl Malkames
  • Filmography: Our Little Girl (1935); The Phantom of Paris (1931); Tess of the Storm Country (1922)
  • Language: English
  • US Distributor: Kino Lorber

Triple Door

The Triple Door

The historic Mann building that houses The Triple Door was originally home to the Embassy Theatre, a vaudeville house that opened in 1926. Built by the Mann and Gallatly families from Wenatchee, the theatre quickly transitioned to films as public tastes began to change in the late 1920s.

The theatre remained one of the premier movie houses in Seattle for the next 30 years, but by the early 1960s the grand days of the Embassy had come to an end. It struggled to hold its own as an A list theatre, but managed to stay on as a blue movie and burlesque house until it closed for good in 1983.

In the fall of 2002, renovation began with a simple goal: an intimate, comfortable space that would connect performers to their audience. Every effort was taken to preserve the ornate qualities of the old theatre, such as the original stage proscenium and ceiling fixtures. Rich fabrics, plush seating, and state of the art sound would complete the renovation, transforming the grand old space for a new generation of entertainment.