SIFF 2019 favorite For Sama broke British Academy Film Awards (BAFTAs) documentary nomination records.

For Sama

In the final awards leading into the awards weekend (Independent Spirit Awards and the Oscars), the announcement of the BAFTA winners solidified a set of films largely expected to win the big prizes this Sunday. Overall, there were very few true surprises in the past few weeks on the awards road. The frontrunners remain the frontrunners, collecting statues along the way, and unless the Academy voters punch above their weight, the Oscars will look like the BATFAs, which looked like the Golden Globes.

At the BAFTAs, the acting awards mirrored the Golden Globes, with Renée Zellweger and Joaquin Phoenix winning in the Leading roles, and Laura Dern and Brad Pitt for the Supporting roles. 1917 won big, taking Best Film, Director, Outstanding British Film, Production Design, Sound, and Cinematography. Hildur Guðnadóttir won Best Score for Joker, and For Sama took Best Documentary. 

Parasite is the true wild card going into this weekend. As expected, it won Best Original Screenplay and Film Not in the English Language at the BAFTAs, but surprised everyone at the SAG Awards taking the Best Performance by a Cast and being name-checked at the DGA Awards by winner Sam Mendes (1917). Holding solidly in the front slot for Foreign Language film, it may be a surprise win for Best Picture on Sunday for the Korean team.

All this said, anything can happen this weekend. Between the Independent Spirit Awards handing out accolades to the wider swath of films made this year, and then the Oscars, the awards trail is nearly at an end!

- Beth Barrett | SIFF Artistic Director
February 3 2020

* denotes a film screening as part of a SIFF program

Best Film
WINNER - 1917*
The Irishman
Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood*

Outstanding British Film
WINNER - 1917*

For Sama*
Sorry We Missed You
The Two Popes

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer
For Sama*
Only You

Film Not in the English Language
The Farewell*
For Sama*
Pain and Glory*
WINNER - Parasite*
Portrait of a Lady On Fire*

American Factory*
Apollo 11
Diego Maradona
WINNER - For Sama*
The Great Hack

Animated Film
Frozen 2
WINNER - Klaus
A Shaun The Sheep Movie: Farmageddon
Toy Story 4

WINNER - 1917*, Sam Mendes
The Irishman, Martin Scorsese
Joker, Todd Phillips
Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood*, Quentin Tarantino
Parasite*, Bong Joon-ho

Original Screenplay
Booksmart, Susanna Fogel, Emily Halpern, Sarah Haskins, Katie Silberman
Knives Out*, Rian Johnson
Marriage Story*, Noah Baumbach
Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood*, Quentin Tarantino
WINNER - Parasite*, Han Jin Won, Bong Joon-ho

Adapted Screenplay
The Irishman, Steven Zaillian
WINNER - Jojo Rabbit, Taika Waititi
Joker, Todd Phillips, Scott Silver
Little Women*, Greta Gerwig
The Two Popes, Anthony McCarten

Leading Actress
Jessie Buckley, Wild Rose*
Scarlett Johansson, Marriage Story*
Saoirse Ronan, Little Women*
Charlize Theron, Bombshell*
WINNER - Renée Zellweger, Judy

Leading Actor
Leonardo DiCaprio, Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood*
Adam Driver, Marriage Story*
Taron Egerton, Rocketman
WINNER - Joaquin Phoenix, Joker
Jonathan Pryce, The Two Popes

Supporting Actress
WINNER - Laura Dern, Marriage Story*
Scarlett Johansson, Jojo Rabbit
Florence Pugh, Little Women*
Margot Robbie, Bombshell*
Margot Robbie, Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood*

Supporting Actor
Tom Hanks, A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood*
Anthony Hopkins, The Two Popes
Al Pacino, The Irishman
Joe Pesci, The Irishman
WINNER - Brad Pitt, Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood*

Original Score
1917*, Thomas Newman
Jojo Rabbit, Michael Giacchino
WINNER - Joker, Hildur Guđnadóttir
Little Women*, Alexandre Desplat
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker, John Williams

WINNER - Joker, Shayna Markowitz
Marriage Story*, Douglas Aibel, Francine Maisler
Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood*, Victoria Thomas
The Personal History of David Copperfield, Sarah Crowe
The Two Popes, Nina Gold

WINNER - 1917*, Roger Deakins
The Irishman, Rodrigo Prieto
Joker, Lawrence Sher
Le Mans '66, Phedon Papamichael
The Lighthouse*, Jarin Blaschke

The Irishman, Thelma Schoonmaker
Jojo Rabbit, Tom Eagles
Joker, Jeff Groth
WINNER - Le Mans '66, Andrew Buckland, Michael McCusker
Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood*, Fred Raskin

Production Design
WINNER - 1917*, Dennis Gassner, Lee Sandales
The Irishman, Bob Shaw, Regina Graves
Jojo Rabbit, Ra Vincent, Nora Sopková
Joker, Mark Friedberg, Kris Moran
Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood*, Barbara Ling, Nancy Haigh

Costume Design
The Irishman, Christopher Peterson, Sandy Powell
Jojo Rabbit, Mayes C. Rubeo
Judy, Jany Temime
WINNER - Little Women*, Jacqueline Durran
Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood*, Arianne Phillips

Make Up & Hair
1917*, Naomi Donne
WINNER - Bombshell*, Vivian Baker, Kazu Hiro, Anne Morgan
Joker, Kay Georgiou, Nicki Ledermann
Judy, Jeremy Woodhead
Rocketman, Lizzie Yianni Georgiou

WINNER - 1917*, Scott Millan, Oliver Tarney, Rachael Tate, Mark Taylor, Stuart Wilson
Joker, Tod Maitland, Alan Robert Murray, Tom Ozanich, Dean Zupancic
Le Mans '66, David Giammarco, Paul Massey, Steven A. Morrow, Donald Sylvester
Rocketman, Matthew Collinge, John Hayes, Mike Prestwood Smith, Danny Sheehan
Star Wars: The Rise Of Skywalker, David Acord, Andy Nelson, Christopher Scarabosio, Stuart Wilson, Matthew Wood

Special Visual Effects
WINNER - 1917*, Greg Butler, Guillaume Rocheron, Dominic Tuohy
Avengers: Endgame, Dan Deleeuw, Dan Sudick
The Irishman, Leandro Estebecorena, Stephane Grabli, Pablo Helman
The Lion King, Andrew R. Jones, Robert Legato, Elliot Newman, Adam Valdez
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker, Roger Guyett, Paul Kavanagh, Neal Scanlan, Dominic Tuohy

British Short Animation
WINNER - "Grandad Was A Romantic.", Maryam Mohajer
"In Her Boots", Kathrin Steinbacher
"The Magic Boat", Naaman Azhari, Lilia Laurel

British Short Film
"Azaar", Myriam Raja, Nathanael Baring
"Goldfish", Hector Dockrill, Harri Kamalanathan, Benedict Turnbull, Laura Dockrill
"Kamali", Sasha Rainbow, Rosalind Croad
WINNER - "Learning to Skateboard in a Warzone (If You're a Girl)", Carol Dysinger, Elena Andreicheva
"The Trap", Lena Headey, Anthony Fitzgerald

EE Rising Star Award
Kaitlyn Dever
Kelvin Harrison Jr.
Jack Lowden
WINNER - Micheal Ward