Gotham Independent Film Awards

Eighth Grade's Elsie Fisher and Bo Burnham took home two big breakthrough awards at The Gotham Independent Film Awards.

Eighth Grade

The 2018 Gotham Independent Film Awards were handed out Monday, November 26, 2018 and some SIFF titles rose to the top!

Ethan Hawke, recipient of the 2018 SIFF Award for Outstanding Contribution to Cinema, started the night with a win for Best Actor in First Reformed, with Paul Schrader taking home Best Screenplay as well.

SIFF 2018 Best Feature winner Eighth Grade was a huge hit, with Elsie Fisher, SIFF 2018 Golden Space Needle Award for Best Actress, prevailing in an all-female field for the Breakthrough Actor Award, and director Bo Burnham winning the Bingham Ray Breakthrough Award.

Won't You Be My Neighbor won the Audience Award, but in a surprise turn, Hale County This Morning, This Evening won for Best Documentary. 

The Favourite, opening December 5 at SIFF Cinema Egyptian, started with three nominations, and took home a win for Ensemble Performance for the three leads, Emma Stone, Olivia Colman, and Rachel Weisz.

This marks the true beginning of the awards season, and SIFF titles will continue to shine!

- Beth Barrett  l  SIFF Artistic Director

Winners & Nominees:

Best Feature
The Favourite (Fox Searchlight)
First Reformed (A24)
If Beale Street Could Talk (Annapurna Pictures)
Madeline's Madeline (Oscilloscope Laboratories)
WINNER - The Rider (SPC)

Best Actor
Adam Driver, BlacKkKlansman (Focus Features)
Ben Foster, Leave No Trace (Bleecker Street)
Richard E. Grant, Can You Ever Forgive Me? (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
WINNER - Ethan Hawke, First Reformed (A24)
Lakeith Stanfield, Sorry To Bother You (Annapurna Pictures)

Best Actress
Glenn Close, The Wife (Sony Pictures Classics)
WINNER - Toni Collette, Hereditary (A24)
Kathryn Hahn, Private Life (Netflix)
Regina Hall, Support The Girls (Magnolia Pictures)
Michelle Pfeiffer, Where is Kyra? (Paladin, Great Point Media)

Breakthrough Actor
Yalitza Aparicio, ROMA (Netflix)
WINNER - Elsie Fisher, Eighth Grade (A24)
Helena Howard, Madeline's Madeline (Oscilloscope Laboratories)
KiKi Layne, If Beale Street Could Talk (Annapurna Pictures)
Thomasin Harcourt McKenzie, Leave No Trace (Bleecker Street)

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award
Ari Aster, Hereditary (A24)
WINNER - Bo Burnham, Eighth Grade (A24)
Jennifer Fox, The Tale (HBO)
Crystal Moselle, Skate Kitchen (Magnolia Pictures)
Boots Riley, Sorry To Bother You (Annapurna Pictures)

Breakthrough Series - Long Form
Alias Grace (Netflix)
The End of the F***ing World (Netflix)
WINNER - Killing Eve (BBC America)
Pose (FX Networks)
Sharp Objects (HBO)

Breakthrough Series - Short Form
WINNER - 195 Lewis
Cleaner Daze
The F Word
She's The Ticket

Best Screenplay
The Favourite, Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara (Fox Searchlight)
WINNER - First Reformed, Paul Schrader (A24)
Private Life, Tamara Jenkins (Netflix)
Support The Girls, Andrew Bujalski (Magnolia Pictures)
Thoroughbreds, Cory Finley (Focus Features)

Best Documentary
Bisbee '17 (4th Row Films)
WINNER - Hale County This Morning, This Evening (The Cinema Guild)
Minding The Gap (Hulu, Magnolia Pictures)
Shirkers (Netflix)
Won't You Be My Neighbor? (Focus Features)

Jury Award for Ensemble Performance
Rachel Weisz, Olivia Colman and Emma Stone, The Favourite (Fox Searchlight)

Audience Award
Won't You Be My Neighbor? (Focus Features)