Independent Spirit Awards

We the Animals leads impressive pack with five total nominations.

We the Animals

The 2019 Independent Spirit Awards were announced Friday, November 16, 2018, and many SIFF alumni are on the list! We the Animals (SIFF 2018) leads the impressive pack with five total nominations, followed closely by Eighth Grade (SIFF 2018 Golden Space Needle winner for Best Film and Best Actress) and Ethan Hawke starring First Reformed with four nominations each.

The list reflects a diverse group of filmmakers - women directors, in particular, are well represented - and a true indie feel, while also including summer box office hits Won't You Be My Neighbor, Hereditary, and Sorry to Bother You.

The foreign film category may be the strongest pre-cursor to the Oscar® shortlist that we have seen yet, with almost all the nominated films expected to be on the list. 

The Independent Spirit Awards will be handed out on February 23, 2019, the day before the Academy Awards®. 

-Beth Barrett | SIFF Artistic Director


Best Feature
Eighth Grade
First Reformed
If Beale Street Could Talk
Leave No Trace
You Were Never Really Here

Best Director
Debra Granik, Leave No Trace
Barry Jenkins, If Beale Street Could Talk
Tamara Jenkins, Private Life
Lynne Ramsay, You Were Never Really Here
Paul Schrader, First Reformed

Best First Feature
Sorry To Bother You
The Tale
We the Animals

Best Female Lead
Glenn Close, The Wife
Toni Collette, Hereditary
Elsie Fisher, Eighth Grade
Regina Hall, Support the Girls
Helena Howard, Madeline's Madeline
Carey Mulligan, Wildlife

Best Male Lead
John Cho, Searching
Daveed Diggs, Blindspotting
Ethan Hawke, First Reformed
Christian Malheiros, Sócrates
Joaquin Phoenix, You Were Never Really Here

Best Supporting Female
Kayli Carter, Private Life
Tyne Daly, A Bread Factory
Regina King, If Beale Street Could Talk
Thomasin Harcourt McKenzie, Leave No Trace
J. Smith-Cameron, Nancy

Best Supporting Male
Raúl Castillo, We the Animals
Adam Driver, Blackkklansman
Richard E. Grant, Can You Ever Forgive Me?
Josh Hamilton, Eighth Grade
John David Washington, Monsters and Men

Best Screenplay
Richard Glatzer (Writer/Story By), Rebecca Lenkiewicz & Wash Westmoreland, Colette
Nicole Holofcener & Jeff Whitty, Can You Ever Forgive Me?
Tamara Jenkins, Private Life
Boots Riley, Sorry To Bother You
Paul Schrader, First Reformed

Best First Screenplay
Bo Burnham, Eighth Grade
Christina Choe, Nancy
Cory Finley, Thoroughbreds
Jennifer Fox, The Tale
Quinn Shephard (Writer/Story By) and Laurie Shephard (Story By), Blame

Best Documentary
Hale County This Morning, This Evening
Minding the Gap
Of Fathers and Sons
Won't You Be My Neighbor?

Best International Film
Burning (South Korea)
The Favourite (United Kingdom)
Happy as Lazzaro (Italy)
Roma (Mexico)
Shoplifters (Japan)