New York Film Critics Circle Awards

First Reformed won Best Actor and Best Screenplay at The New York Film Critics Circle Awards on November 29, 2018.

New York Film Critics Circle Awards

While Roma won big with the New York Film Critics Circle awards, the wins keep coming for Ethan Hawke and First Reformed, winning Best Actor and Best Screenplay, while Richard E. Grant picks up the Best Supoorting Actor award for Can You Ever Forgive Me?. Eighth Grade hits for Best First Feature, showing that SIFF audiences know talent when we see it!

Upcoming SIFF Cinema films fared well, with Regina King winning Best Supoorting Actress for If Beale Street Could Talk and Pawel Pawlikowski's Cold War continuing its march towards the Best Foreign Language Oscar. The NYFCC is made up of critics from daily and weekly newspapers, magazines, and online publications, and has a strong history of lauding upcoming Oscar nominees, though not always the eventual winners.

- Beth Barrett  l  SIFF Artistic Director

The Full list:

New York Film Critics 2018 Award Winners

Best Picture: Roma

Best Director: Alfonso Cuarón, Roma

Best Screenplay: Paul Schrader, First Reformed

Best Actress: Regina Hall, Support the Girls

Best Actor: Ethan Hawke, First Reformed

Best Supporting Actress: Regina King, If Beale Street Could Talk

Best Supporting Actor: Richard E. Grant, Can You Ever Forgive Me?

Best Cinematography: Roma, Alfonso Cuaron

Best Non-fiction Film: Minding the Gap, director Bing Liu

Best Foreign Language Film: Cold War, director Pawel Pawlikowski

Best Animated Feature: Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse

Best First Film: Eighth Grade, director Bo Burnham

Special Award For Career Achievement: David Schwartz, Chief Film Curator at Museum of the Moving Image for 33 years

Special Award: Kino Classics Box Set Pioneers: First Women Filmmakers