SIFF 2023 Award Winners

Sunday, May 21, 2023

Golden Space Needle Awards

Eleven days and 264 films later, the Golden Space Needle Audience and Juried Competition Awards have been announced. Congrats to all these award-winning filmmakers, and thanks to our jurors and our treasured audience for a terrific 49th year!


Best Film - Dancing Queen, directed by Aurora Gossé (Norway)

Best Documentary - 26.2 to Life, directed by Christine Yoo (USA)

Best Director - Maryam Touzani, The Blue Caftan (Morocco/France)

Best Performance - Lubna Azabal, The Blue Caftan (Morocco/France)

Best Short Film - Donkey, directed by Matt Kazman (USA)

Lena Sharpe Award For Persistence Of Vision, presented By Women In Film Seattle - 26.2 to Life, directed by Christine Yoo (USA)


Official Competition Grand Jury Prize - 20,000 Species Of Bees | dir. Estibaliz Urresola Solaguren (Spain)

Official Competition Special Jury Prize - Actress Marall Nasiri in Opponent | dir. Milad Alami (Sweden)

Ibero-American Competition Grand Jury Prize - The Fishbowl | dir. Glorimar Marrero Sánchez (Spain)

Ibero-American Competition Special Jury Prize - Actress Maria Vásquez in Matria | dir. Álvaro Gago (Spain)

New Directors Competition Grand Jury Prize - Next Sohee | dir. by July Jung (South Korea)

New Directors Competition Special Jury Prize - Hanging Gardens | dir. Ahmed Yassin Al Daradji (Iraq, Palestine, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, United Kingdom)

New American Cinema Competition Grand Jury Prize - Mutt | dir. Vuk Lungulov-Klotz (USA)

New American Cinema Competition Special Jury Prize - This Closeness | dir. Kit Zauhar (USA)

Documentary Competition Grand Jury Prize - Against the Tide | dir. Sarvnik Kaur (India, France)

Documentary Competition Special Jury Prize - King Coal | dir. Elaine Mcmillion Sheldon (USA)

Youth Jury Prize For Best Futurewave Feature - And the King Said, What a Fantastic Machine | dir. Axel Danielson, Maximilien Van Aertryck (Sweden, Denmark)

Youth Jury Prize For Best Futurewave Feature Special Jury Mention - Lonely Castle in the Mirror | dir. Keiichi Hara (Japan)

Wavemaker Award Grand Jury Prize - ROOM (USA 2022) | dir. Ian Dani Kim

Wavemaker Award Special Jury Mention - American Ball Game (USA 2022) | dir. Teja Mettu, Krish Mysoor


Live Action Short Grand Jury Prize - AirHostess-737 | dir. Thanasis Neofotistos (Greece)

Live Action Short Special Jury Prize - Sisters of the Rotation | dir. Gaby Zarazir, Michel Zarazir (Lebanon)

Documentary Short Grand Jury Prize - Nǎi Nai & Wài Pó (Grandma & Grandma) | dir. Sean Wang (USA)

Documentary Short Special Jury Prize - 45th Parallel | dir. Lawrence Abu Hamdan (United Kingdom)

Animated Short Grand Jury Prize - fur |z dir. Zhen Li (USA)

Dancing Queen
26.2 to Life
The Blue Caftan
20,000 Species Of Bees
The Fishbowl
Next Sohee
Hanging Gardens
This Closeness
Against The Tide
King Coal
And the King Said, What a Fantastic Machine
Lonely Castle in the Mirror

Don't miss your future favorite film!

Subscribe to our newsletter and get the latest updates from the SIFF community delivered straight to your inbox.