SIFF 2022 Award Winners

Sunday, April 24, 2022

Golden Space Needle Audience Awards and Juried Award Winners

Eleven days and 263 films later, the Golden Space Needle Audience and Juried Competition Awards have been announced. Congrats to all these award-winning filmmakers, and thanks to our jurors and our treasured audience for a terrific 48th year!


Best Film - Know Your Place, directed by Zia Mohajerjasbi (USA)

Best Documentary - The Territory, directed by Alex Pritz (Brazil/Denmark/USA)

Best Short Film - Long Line of Ladies, directed by Reyka Zehtabchi, Shaandiin Tome (USA 2022)

Best Performance - Dale Dickey, A Love Song (USA)

Best Director - Horacio Gomez Alcalà, Finlandia (Spain/Mexico)

Lena Sharpe Award for Persistence of Vision - Sweetheart Deal, directed by Elisa Levine and Gabriel Miller (USA)


Official Competition Grand Jury Prize - Klondike | dir. Maryna Er Gorbach (Ukraine, Turkey)

Official Competition Special Jury Prize - Navalny | dir. Daniel Roher (USA, Russia, Germany)

Official Competition Special Jury Prize - Fire of Love | dir. Sara Dosa (USA, Canada)

Ibero-American Competition Grand Jury Prize - Sublime | dir. Mariano Biasin (Argentina)

Ibero-American Competition Special Jury Prize for Originality of Vision - The Sacred Spirit |dir. Chema García Ibarra (Spain/France/Turkey/United Kingdom)

New Directors Competition Grand Jury Prize - Lonely Voices | dir. Andrea Brusa, Marco Scotuzzi (Italy)

New Directors Competition Special Jury Prize - Moneyboys | dir. C.B. Yi (Austria/France/Belgium/Taiwan)

New Directors Competition Special Jury Prize - Tug of War | dir. Amil Shivji (Tanzania/South Africa/Germany/Qatar)

New American Cinema Competition Grand Jury Prize - Know Your Place | dir. Zia Mohajerjasbi (USA)

Documentary Competition Grand Jury Prize - Radiograph of a Family | dir. Firouzeh Khosrovani (Iran/Norway/Switzerland)

Documentary Competition Special Jury Prize for Cinematography - Dark Red Forest | dir. Jin Huaqing (China)


FutureWave Shorts Wavemaker Award - She | dir. Eva Li

Short Film Live Action Grand Jury Prize - Rachels Don't Run | dir. Joanny Causse

Short Film Live Action Special Jury Prize - El Carrito | dir. Zahida Pirani

Short Film Live Action Special Jury Prize - Tank Fairy | dir. Erich Rettstadt

Short Film Documentary Grand Jury Prize - Long Line of Ladies | dir. Rayka Zehtabchi, Shaandiin Tome

Short Film Animation Grand Jury Prize - Love, Dad | dir. Diana Cam Van Nguyen

Short Film Animation Special Jury Prize for Excellence in Directing - Wet | dir. Marianne Bergeonneau, Lauriane Montppert, Mélina Mandon, Cloé Peyrebrune, Elvira Taussac

Don't miss your future favorite film!

Subscribe to our newsletter and get the latest updates from the SIFF community delivered straight to your inbox.